MagicAdvisor.com
   Home      Judge!   Test yourself    What?      Vendors      Decks   Contact me
 
Focus On - Rhystic Study

Read the following excerpts from the Comprehensive Rules first and then try the questions (note how we are sneakily trying to get you to learn to read the Comprehensive Rules).

COMPREHENSIVE RULES

[404.1] A Triggered ability begins with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." The phrase containing one of these words is the trigger condition, which defines the trigger event.

[404.2 Triggered abilities aren't played. Instead, they automatically "trigger" each time their trigger event occurs. Once an ability has triggered, it goes on the stack the next time a player receives priority.

[Glossary] "Unless"

Some cards use the phrase "[Do something] unless you [do something else]." This means the same thing as "You may [do something else]. If you don't, [do something.]"

RHYSTIC STUDY
2U
Enchantment
Whenever an opponent plays a spell, you may draw a card unless that player pays 1.


Example Situation: Jason controls a Rhystic Study. It's Samantha's turn and she plays a Waterfront Bouncer. (Assume REL 2 - that is, Rules Enforcement Level 2)


1) When does the triggered ability of the Rhystic Study go on the stack?
a. It only goes on the stack if Jason announces he wants to draw a card.
b. It only goes on the stack if Samantha announces that she will pay the 1 mana.
c. It goes on the stack as soon as Jason gets priority.
d. It goes on the stack as soon as either player would get priority.
e. This type of ability does not go on the stack at all.

2) If Samantha doesn't want Jason to draw a card from the Rhystic Study, when does she have to pay the 1 mana?
a. When she announces that she is playing the Waterfront Bouncer.
b. After the Waterfront Bouncer has been placed on the stack.
c. When the triggered effect of the Study goes on the stack.
d. When the triggered effect of the Study actually resolves, but before Jason has to decide if he wants to draw a card.
e. When the triggered effect of the Study resolves, but only after Jason has decided if he wants to draw a card.

3) Samantha asks Jason if he has any responses to the playing of the Bouncer. He says "no". He then asks her, "Are you doing anything else?". She says "no". Jason draws a card from the Rhystic Study. Samantha calls for a judge and claims Jason illegally drew a card. How should the judge rule?
a. No penalty. When Samantha asked Jason if he "had any responses to the Bouncer", she was clearly passing priority to Jason and giving up her option to pay the 1 mana to prevent his card draw. In fact, you may even wonder if she may be trying to get a game win by tricking Jason into drawing an extra card.
b. Samantha should be given the chance to pay the 1 mana to prevent the card draw. If she does pay this, Jason should put back the card he drew (or put a card back selected at random). Jason should be given a Warning. Since it is his Rhystic Study, it is his responsibility to make sure it is played properly.
c. Jason should be given a game loss for drawing extra cards. The REL doesn't matter in this case.
d. There is no way to recover this game, as there is no way to determine which card Jason actually drew, so you should just have the players restart the game from the beginning.
e. The new 2000 Judging Penalty Guidelines state that "drawing an extra card is grounds for immediate disqualification" at any REL.


All trademarks are property of Wizards of the Coast, Inc. ©2000 Wizards.